Don’t prepare the path for the child…

As the new landscaper looked in disgust at my dead flowers
in the front door pots, I…

smiled sweetly through gritted teeth as I greeted him. In my typical fashion,
I did not have time to replace my almost-dead winter flowers.
I was certain that he did NOT understand ALL that I have to do.
I just can’t keep everything alive!!

Since I just can’t do it al, I pick and choose. And I choose my kids.
“Don’t prepare the path for the child.
Prepare the child for the path.”  

Roots – values and standards to live by,
family traditions and time together, making memories that matter

Wings – letting your children make mistakes and live with consequences,
teaching your children life skills instead of doing it for them (laundry, take their car in for repairs, talk to their coach themselves),
helping them discover and develop their strengths and talents

By giving our children roots, we give them confidence, love and someone they know they can rely on.

By giving our children wings, we enable them to solve their own problems, be willing to try something new, and learn how to live life on their own.

By the way, my summer plants are alive. So far. Just give me a couple more months.

Happy Summer!!
Marci

 The #TILTtip in June is

Roots & Wings

Leave a Reply

